McLuhan: On the role of the artist, poet and sleuth

Marshall would have recognized Terry Craig as an artist and poet.

McLuhan quote alert:

  • The poet, the artist, the sleuth, whoever sharpens our perception tends to be antisocial; rarely ‘well adjusted,’ he cannot go along with currents and trends…. Their power to see environments as they really are.

Click to listen to Track 3, Side Two: Rainbow In The Wind.

Rainbow In The Wind

I once knew a mountain and a beautiful fountain that left me high and dry.
And I once had a friend supposed to have been until she let me go bye.
Then what could I do but laugh to myself
Although there was no glow that would shine within my mind and bring a cheerful delight
What was there to do but make the best of all there was to choose from those to be decided upon, those to confide in.

I was headed out the door which left me where I’d been so many times before
But I knew I had a rainbow in the wind that keeps on moving all the colours here within my mind.
There’s got to be some sympathy for those who cannot find a rainbow in the wind, a rainbow in the wind.

The second time around with the mountain the trees breathing in the breeze, why couldn’t I see?
The second time around with the beautiful fountain flowing down to meet the sea.
Then what about my friends supposed to have been maybe we could have seen and believed in the love that we had planned so many years ahead?
What we learned from all our mistakes provides us and then guides us to a better way of seeing life as it really is.

Now I’m headed for the sky I’m going to live for today and forget about tomorrow until I die.
And I thank You for my rainbow in the wind that keeps on moving all the colours here within my mind.
There’s got to be some sympathy for those who cannot find a rainbow in the wind, a rainbow in the wind.

Music and Lyrics by Terry Craig, Registered with SOCAN. My Birch Bark Tree, 1975. Digitally engineered by David Strachan.

Leave a Reply

